ABN 22 346 252 276
P.O. Box 2478,
Bakery Hill VIC 3354

The Albert Coates
Memorial Trust

A Ballarat based committee was formed in 1998 to develop a memorial to Ballarat born Sir Albert Coates. The Trust raised funds for a significant monument in Ballarat's Sturt St. All office bearers are voluntary.  The Trust has no salaried staff.

The Trust sponsors a range of student awards at the University of Ballarat, Mt Pleasant Primary School and the University of Melbourne. The Rotary Club of Melbourne sponsors an annual Young Achievers Award.  In 2008 a new program of scholarships for the post-graduate training of rural emergency care nusres was introduced.

In association with the University of Ballarat there is the Albert Coates Oration. All of these activities serve to help new generations learn something of the Albert Coates story.
The Albert Coates Trust acknowledges the generous support for its Rural Emergency Care Nursing Scholarships of the Australian Legion of Ex-Servicemen and Women.

Members List

Chairman: Mr Don Moss FRACS

  • Treasurer: Mr Bruce Clark OAM
  • Secretary: Mr Roger Trudgeon MA

Trust Members

  • Mrs Desley Beechey RN, RM, Masters (Mid.), JP
  • Mr Arthur Coates
  • Ms Robyn Coates
  • Mr Walter Gherardin OAM FRAIA
  • Mrs Winifred Gherardin
  • Mr Michael Kent
  • Lt. Col. Ted Lynes OAM
  • Mr Sam Maskell CPA
  • Mr Peter McCracken
  • Ms Shirley McIver
  • Ms Gwenda McManus
  • Mr Roger H Mitchell FRACS
  • Mrs Lorna Morgan
  • Mr Neil Prodger RN, RPN, Grad Dip. Business
  • Mrs Marie Pryor
  • Mr Neil Shiells

Trust Medical Scholarship Advisors

  • Dr Andrew Dean, St John of God Hospital, Ballarat
  • Dr Allan Donelly, Dept. of Human Services, Ballarat
the trust
© Copyright 2007 - 2016 - Albert Coates - Master Surgeon, Teacher, Humanitarian
This website is presented by the Albert Coates Memorial Trust, PO Box 2478, Bakery Hill, Victoria, 3354